16 to 40

I came across your saccharin smile, amidst the doe-eyed and sheepish, mistaken for wanderlust.
That’s just how we all seemed to each other.

How lame- you roughing me up with your sentiments, your discontent, the remains of my poise left somewhere outside.
Why didn’t I just stay at home where quiet is understood?

So eloquent- the well wishers knew something I didn’t.
I’d ask you out in the cold, I’d ask you to go home; we could share a ride and make this crowd disappear.

Here inside with so many faces, blurred between the dimly lit and easily forgotten- we lay our egos strewn amongst the dark corners.
Beside myself, I left alone.

The exhilarated moments- you balked, they were only mine to share.
Bitten by the cold night air,
the loyalty of children- misplaced over second thoughts.

Aren’t we forgotten so easily?

Leave a Reply

