Fool Them All (new years revolution)

These same fifteen songs
An iPod loaded,
Stolen or shared
Useless, but I had to have.
And now you recognize it
For what it is, a fraud
What’s the point?
That’s what I asked
And I realized the room
Went empty
Everyone long gone,
In the minutes that seemed like days when they passed.
I watched you
Thrown aside sleep
Drunken nights
Work incomplete
One more written
Warning and I’ll leave
This shithole where I can’t breath
Take me out or
I’ll do it myself
What do you expect?
From a room
Drained of self respect
I did a job on
Destroying what’s left.

Go home
The yard looks well kept
Someone else lives there now
That dream
Forever dead.
Drive through the grass
Into the tree
You drunken fuck
Dodge that bullet
Insurance fraud
And fallacy
That will be
Your last lie
Until you do it again

This useless soundtrack
Wrecked beyond belief
Don’t hold back
Waste everything in sight
.

2 comments on “Fool Them All (new years revolution)

  1. kmroupas says:

    I really love the rawness of your poems. They paint a vivid picture of someone’s experience that the reader can empathize with. (Huge inner poetry nerd speaking)

Leave a Reply

