Terra Nova Love Junky

I’d take you anyway you would come
Just know I’m gone before you’re done
It’s in my nature to not care what happens to us
Settled less in your heart more than it ever was
My box shaped heart, jagged lines where butterflies stirred
Dreams of adolescents who found love the first time, possible, inert
Maturity and leftovers, jilted lovers fighting over the scraps
Spilling into streams of lust, I would trade for the hole filled gaps
purpose- stripped of pretense
And all the strings we puppeteer with safety nets
We commandeer,
Over and over

Until I walk home, passing your remnants along the road
Moths scurried in darkness, no color to their wings
Three months severed, petty things,
no wisdom to bleed

I feel let down,
Not by you
But by myself

Leave a Reply

