My Little Guy, the Mirror

Son…

When I see it for what it is, they shrunk you from me,
including personalities.
How lucky, disconcerting face, aimless grin trailing somewhere behind the tail of the wind.
Always self conscious, places to hide.
The rollercoaster pulling hair-pin turns and never letting up at the peak of the sky.

The way you twist a slice of pizza into envelope size, full of cheese, ignoring the crust.
Skin freckled, sandwiched between opaline globes- contorted in its own symmetrical array.
No lack of insecurity, no spare trust.
Subtle gestures in crowds, sometimes explosive and back to reserved.
Struggle to co-exist, crowded restaurant, pretend to ignore– maybe you can’t hear with all that noise.

I know the truth “wink,wink”.
They all must be talking about you,
yeah, I do hear that.
They glare from everywhere.
Don’t look now,
I’ve discovered my shadow

Leave a Reply

