Memorial

Wanted to get a Starbs for you there,
at the end, it was just decaf.
I served it to you as best I could,
knowing it wasn’t what you liked.
Ice cream, chocolate syrup in tow,
hope you know, the small world you disowned
won’t be how you’re remembered.
Beyond the stars, coffee flowing freely,
just like you.
Hershey’s Dark Special and salad bars,
trips to Myrtle, your parade of new cars.
The Navy day stories, for hours and hours.
Those memories are what’s important to me.
Go on dad, You’re Free.

I have this photo of you,
Jen and me sitting at a resort,
somewhere picturesque.
Some place so far from here.
Indelibly etched.
You’re both gone now,
a solemn but honest epilogue.
I’ll remember that frozen moment.
It’s who we really are.

I know the truth.
Memories never fade.
They’re forever.

Leave a comment